top of page
  • Writer's picturePaula F. Hill

Sorting Your Scraps!


Since I am a writer, I scribble. Little scraps of paper stockpile in the car side pocket, my purse, baskets near the desk, on the side of the sink in the bathroom, nightstand, kitchen countertop, windowsill next to the reading chair... okay, most of the flat surfaces around the house have a piece of paper!

Every few days, I walk from room to room with a large "IN BOX".

Papers become manageable with an easy system:

1. Gather them all on the MADE bed

2. Sort into piles of like category:

  • Business

  • Bills

  • Personal

  • Junk/Recycle

  • Follow-up

  • File

  • Toss

3. Then paperclip each category together

With the CD blaring a favorite 80’s tune (so I can sing along,) I sort each pile. I set the timer for five minutes so I can learn to do it efficiently. As an example: Business goes into smaller piles to deal with later - I create a pile for each weekday, to finalize one piece of paper at a time, one day at a time.

When I can manage this project in bite-size pieces, it makes the task a lot less daunting. My GOAL is to have one notebook and a way to deal with each piece of paper immediately…that is for another day!


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page