top of page
  • Writer's picturePaula F. Hill

Raging Rover


Everyone loves a good Dog and Pony show…

until they get to the punch line and you realize it’s a lie,

for real.

Caring for a Golden with a Bully reputation for taking out other pet’s eyes and ripping out jugulars.

First day was super calm.

Next morning, he got jealous and jaw-to-the-neck attacked MY Wonder Dog.

Not cool.

For many days, I have cared for this Rat disguised as a Good Dog, with hopeful caution that we have that temper-tantrum behavior behind us.

This morning, as we’re all snuggly and cuddly, getting pampered and smooched…he viciously throttles Wonder Dog AGAIN!

Oh boy.

How to reprimand a behavior that seems instinctual, guttural, automatic in response to jealousy and She’s MINE trigger?

I have seen this before in relationships. The signals appear and I disregard them as arbitrary or a one-time thing. I can fix it. If they get enough love, attention, calm and soothing affection, they will get over it.

I took Wonder Dog for a stroll alone. Although I suspect Bad Boy doesn’t truly understand the ramifications of his actions, I want to feel better about taking a stand.

Now, (CORE DEEP RESIGNED SIGH,) I realize I have to be on my guard at all times, ‘cause deep down, he can’t really help it. He’s a dog, he’s got male aggression, he ain’t happy unless he is NUMBER ONE, damn him.

It is up to me to be the Good Protector, to take my Leader role very seriously.

When it seems too good to be true, it could actually behoove me to pay attention to the underlying death-defying sensation of "Beware."


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page