top of page
  • Writer's picturePaula F. Hill

If you're not a cat, curiosity is a good thing.


Sideways.

I wonder WTF is going on.

When I hit light after traffic light. Stuck behind the s..l..o..w lady in a humungous Caddy.

The refurbished cell phone dies, dishwasher floods onto the new flooring, frig stops generating ice, winds blow in from another direction and wets the important papers on the desktop in the middle of the night, and someone doesn’t show for dinner plans.

"Sad, mad, dad, bad. Dad is sad, very, very sad. He had a bad day. What a day dad had." Dr. Seuss

I get him.

He had me at “Sad."

If I become curious instead of angry or sad, I could see the possibility that none of this CIRCUMSTANCE is life-threatening.

  • No one is sick.

  • No one is dying.

  • No one needs a transplant.

  • No one got lost in the fire.

  • No one's irreparably harmed.

  • No one is to blame.

I shift, turning the kaleidoscope a tinge. Adjusting my perspective of the way things are into "maybe it's just out-of-the-ordinary?"

Inquisitiveness seeps-in. I feel eager in the unknown. Revealing the possibilities of options.

I actually needed a new cell phone, the flood forced me to organize the basement. The ice maker produced cloudy, probably noxious cubes. I discover a piece of paper in the wet mass of documents that didn’t get mailed (a significant payment.) That "Someone" had a damn good reason for not showing up to dinner…I’d invited them to come over tonight instead of last night!

Be curious and cheer dad up with a walk around the neighborhood.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page