top of page
  • Writer's picturePaula F. Hill

The Upside of Hiding Out


This little turtle I discovered (actually reached for it on the gravel path 'cause I thought it was a dingy coin) is about the size of a quarter. It was parked like an illegal Volkswagon bug, smack dab in the middle of the road, undetected. The drop of water came peeling down from a wet leaf above, which caught my attention. And consequently, I spotted this tiny bugger. I called out to a woman standing nearby with her two frisky dogs, to come and look at the creature. She was fearful it would be trampled or eaten. I enjoyed its company in peace.

As I meandered about the park, I thought about the advantages of sneaking around in broad daylight. Hiding out under the trees, out of sight from the unforgiving sun, minding my own life.

I traipsed-on, lifting my legs high out of the wet prairie grasses, sloshed through the weeds, curled around the marsh and circled around again. I knew I was wasting time. Realized I should be getting back to organizing the office area, shooting off networking and marketing emails, generating new business contacts, coming up with inventive content, instead of farting around near the creek. Of course the dog needs a walk, but certainly not for hours on end!

I'm avoiding the fray. Distracting myself from giving out pointers, awaiting blog comments and pithy thank you's for a job well done. I am skirting the empty week ahead. The calendar filled with To Do's versus Profitable Projects.

Damn it!

How to find the motivation required to take that next step? What IS the next step?

What does my heart long for?

Who do I already have in my life that I'm grateful for?

Where am I the student?

What did I do the last time I felt inept (aside from making a tray of nachos and eating the entire plate in one sitting?)

Where am I charitable?

When do I discover meaning in my day?

Why am I a Guide? And to whom?

What will my next thought be?

What the f*$#)! am I supposed to be doing RIGHT NOW?

In a flash, I swirl around and head back to spy the baby turtle again. Soak up a few more minutes of wonder and awe then head back to my home office.

I write.

I read.

Watch a TedTalk.

I prepare a list of amazing projects to generate in the next two months and place them on my calendar.

I really don't know what made the difference in that split second. All I know is, the little critter made me happy.

Then I share this story.

And hope you've been moved/motivated/humored/introspective.

Share if you care!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page