top of page
  • Writer's picturePaula F. Hill

How to post a BLOG with a cat on your lap


Start writing about the cat, he'll want to stay incognito so he jumps off said lap and onto the armrest of the recliner. Done!

A decluttering client told me "I don't think we'll need all of those boxes you brought. I only have energy to work one hour at a time" (though we agreed beforehand on a three hour stint.) I listen to her plans for the room (re-create a guest bedroom,) stacked with boxes, paper bags, cloth bags, plastic bags, luggage, and a card table parked smack dab in the center of things. I nod, and begin with the left side of the room, top of the pile.

We chat, ooh and ahh about the items we unearth, as we sort, stack, box, pack, and shuffle to another room. After one hour, the room is nearly cleared and she's got homework to do before I come back next week. Mostly mail, junk, photos, cards, and magazines to go through while watching her soaps.

I tell "R" the story of an email, came around last week, about a couple with newborn twins. Mom has some health issues and is in need of support. A cozy hot pink lap blanket came out of the woodwork, comfy socks, a novel in French, some vanilla scented shower gel, strawberry body lotion, a tube of face cream, wool winter hat and a new cheery cloth bag to put everything in. We ran across a sackful of doll clothes. I said, I think I've got a doll for those. No, I have one in the next room, I'll go get it. The three year old older sister got a life-sized doll to play with and a carrying case to make it an easy transfer to my car.

Gift bags, Christmas cards, wrapping paper, tissue, table cloths, and bows came out of nowhere to add to the pile. I'm not sure where it's all going but I just pack it up and take it away. As long as "R's" willing to give it up, I go along with it, cheering her on.

A job well done, I tell her. You used all of the boxes but one! A big hug comes after that, as she follows me to the elevator, and down to the front door. The baby doll and accessories go in the front seat, prime real estate for the special gift.

I add winter jackets, scarves, hats, and gloves to the mix. Drive it to the family's house and drop it on the doorstep. I'd love to see the little girl's face but I want to give them privacy, honor their circumstances.

Life is grand, especially when you're a GIVER. Ask "R," she'll tell you just how good it feels to...

Give Away!!


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page