top of page
  • Writer's picturePaula F. Hill

For God Sakes John, sit DOWN!


John is completely out of control. He jumps up on everyone, another dog (regardless of the teeth-baring reaction,) child (ignores the screaming that ensues,) old farts (they too squeal like piglets.) and his owner (who typically laughs in glee.) No, this isn't funny, it's horrible, especially during monsoon season and muddy paw prints can stain.

Jump, jump, jump, jump, jostle, jump. There's no stopping him. Or so Cindy thinks. She's a young 24 and this is her first dog ever. She got him at the Rescue Shelter, took John to a series of obedience classes (though I didn't see the certificate to prove she actually graduated) and has been practicing diligently. Or so she claims. OK, let's give her the benefit of the doubt.

I'm a dog walker, I share.

Oh! How cute!

Hm, well, not the reaction I expected. Let's try again.

If you're open to some suggestions???...

Isn't John SO sweet, he LOVES everyone!

Yes, and, well, he doesn't take any cues from the other dogs nor reacts to your commands so maybe...can I show you a few things?

SUUURRREE...as though it's one sentence versus a single word.

I run John around Baxter park, allowing Cindy to take my dog's leash. He's ragged-tired by the time we stop and in a second, he's jumping up on my clean jeans. I start running him again, keeping his leash short, and his body close to my left hip. We stop again, now he's REALLY tired, tongue hanging long. I notice a big black spot.

Sit John.

He doesn't sit.

Did he learn how to sit in class?

Well, kinda.

I ask if he can have a treat. With that word, my dog runs over and sits down, drool seeping out of the corners of his mouth. The Sure phrase comes out again.

John sits.

I turn my dog around so he's not facing me.

I take out another treat, make a fist and say "sit" as I extend my arm high and behind his head. It forces him to sit down as he looks up at my hand.

That's cool!!

You try it.

I give her a few treats and she is successful. Cindy runs around in a circle, waving her clenched hand in the air, saying "sit" "Sit!"

It's best that you stand in one spot, in front of John. Let him see your eyes, hear your strong command, and respond. Don't give him a treat if he doesn't obey.

Several more treats are handed over. She makes him sit again and again.

He starts jumping up on her leg. "Sit!!" "Sit down!!"

Can you run around and sit at the same time?

Hm, well, no.

The word to use when he's jumping is "Off" if you say "Down"

once he learns down, which actually means to lie down, then he gets confused. He can't sit OR lie down from a jumping stance.

Let's try down.

I hold the treat in my palm again, showing her how to make him sit first, then move my hand down towards the ground. Initially John started the downward momentum then popped back into a sit. I pushed on his shoulders a little. He still resisted. I took ahold of his front paws and pulled down and forward, he was forced to go down. I held him for a few seconds so he got the sensation and said "Good job." and gave him a treat.

Cindy ran through all of the movements several times. I watched while others came into the "training arena" and as John jumped, Cindy ran over, got his attention with a treat and told him "Off." Eventually he looked to her before jumping up on a dog or person and she was satisfied.

I ran out of treats and she left the park very happy. "He'll listen better if you take him out prior to eating his meal. Take him for long walks before working with him. A tired body makes the brain more attentive.

Tyrus got his share of treats for being the Head of the Class. He likes to show off his good behavior.

He had his share of training. When he was a puppy, we were running and playing on the beach. A toddler was wandering towards us, a huge candy bar in his hand. Tyrus was used to chasing sticks, he must have thought it was time to play. He ran at the toddler, veering off just before he got to him. The kiddo fell sideways, startled, and screaming as though he'd been tackled in a big play. His candy bar was intact. The mom scooped him up, shouting obscenities at me, at Tyrus, at the situation, though the boy was obviously not hurt. I explained he's just a baby and doesn't know any better, I'm sorry. "He's not a baby, he's three!" "Oh, I meant my dog..." Yikes.

So I do get it, having a misbehaving out-of-control young dog. They need consistency, patience, understanding, a safe place to train, and loads of treats.

Got your own training tips? Please leave in comments below.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page