top of page
  • Writer's picturePaula F. Hill

My Favorite Failure


I wanted to be a slave for six months as a Wwoofer on three organic farms in Brasil (yes, with an "s") a few years ago. My goal was to be of service, learn all about farming firsthand, and spread a little of my own seeds of awareness. I chose three farms that enthralled me - one who wanted to increase their CSA capacity, another who planted trees near the rain forest, and a third that had a farm attached to an orphanage who's goal was to entice tourists to help their cause.

I was ready, dragging along an extra suitcase of goods to gift everyone I met. I had a small backpack of my clothes, rubber boots and gloves for my days ahead (I knew they wouldn't have women's size 9 boots on hand, nor gloves to fit my basketball palming hands.)

After the second full week of laboring in the fields I showered and took the rest of the Friday afternoon to send emails and post on FB. The office where I could connect with the internet was up on a hill, away from the main house where my room was located.

It was nearly dark and I headed down the big hill, noting how slick it was under my flip flops. Then, I began to slide...all the way down the hillside to the bottom, crashing into a ditch, smashing my ankle against the far side, breaking it badly.

That led to my disparaging remaining five weeks on the farm, unable to contribute, incapable of paying my way (the agreement is six hours of labor to cover room and board,) and make my mark on the organic farming industry.

I failed. Myself, the farmer, the farm hands, current (one guy from the EC spent a short time on the farm too) future Wwoofers, and my friends.

To say I was heartbroken wasn't a stretch. I was devastated. Alone, and at a great loss.

Then, I began to write. I sat with my laptop and wrote, wrote, wrote.

(see my blog posts: http://paulafhill60commonsalt.blogspot.com/)

Now, I know I can depend on my writing skills that take me above and beyond my physical strength. I don't have to be worried about the times when I'm down and out, sick or suffering from a broken limb. I can write, and write I do...daily!

And now it's your turn...

What's your favorite failure?

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page