top of page
  • Writer's picturePaula F. Hill

How much does that Doggy In the Window Cost?


"Can a DOG be a Hoarder?" Jenny asked me last week. "Well, it totally depends upon the owner," I respond with a snort. We were scrounging through her dog closets in the spare bedroom. It happens to be Boris' bedroom but it's hard for me to acknowledge the dog has it's own room.

"Boris is a fantastic companion pet who rarely complains," Jenny shares. "I got him right after Brent and I split up. I went directly to the pet store and rescued him from the awful cage. He's such good company, gets me out the door for three walks a day, helps me pay attention to the things I'm grateful for, is a better Friday and Saturday night date than Brent ever was, honestly! Boris makes sure I don't eat the whole bag of buttered popcorn myself, and follows me all around the house to keep me safe and sound." I couldn't argue with that!

We sat down to make a list of the pet costs, as Jenny was starting a new lease on life and wanting to save some money for a new car. She's determined to cut back on her expenses and suspected Boris might be taking too big a chunk out of her paycheck. Let's see...

We tallied the $1008 for his special diet food last year and went on to the rest:

treats and rawhides

multiple beds and toys,

harness, leashes, collars

jackets, sweaters, heavy coats

winter paw wax

digestive supplement

remedies for poor skin, injuries from running like a banchee in the woods when he escapes

car seat

special harness to keep him in his car seat

blankets, towels

muzzle, gentle leader (as he pulls)

toothbrush and paste, charcoal breath freshner

various brands canned foods (he's particular and changes his mind from one day to the next)

heartworm, flea and lymes prevention

innoculations /vet visits

id tags, license

wading pool

pooper scooper, poop bags

The Dog Walker, overnight sitting (too stressful trading with friends)

books, tapes, magazines, cd's for training and education

bowls, feeders

crates, gates

grooming brushes, nail trimmer, comb, detangler spray, conditioner, coat softner

cleaning supplies

potty mats

sanitary napkins and covers (for when Boris' girlfriend comes over during her time of the month)

diapers and covers (leftover from her parents' dog and Jenny inherited them)

As Jenny had spent well over $1625 for the above supplies, most of which are in excellent condition, they will hopefully last throughout Boris' lifetime.

There were a few things Jenny decides to donate, the stack fits into a Whole Foods paper bag and we organize the rest on shelves in the (ahem) spare bedroom. "I just don't see how I can cut back on anything from the pet department, maybe I should look at my cosmetics area," she surmised.

By the way, Jenny's considering another furry friend...so even more love supplies is a given.

Did I forget something, a MUST HAVE on the list of goodies for Boris? If so, let me know!!

Please share, share, SHARE with those friends who're considering adopting a dog for the first time.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page